Skip to content
Skip to navigation
Email this page Print this page

Governance and membership


The Scottish Partnership for Palliative Care is a charitable company limited by guarantee, and is registered as a Scottish charity with the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator.

The organisation is governed by its Memorandum and Articles of Association which define its sphere of activity and form its constitution. The Memorandum and Articles were adopted on 7 May 1991 and last amended on 25 February 2015.

The Partnership is a membership organisation, and criteria for membership are defined in the Memorandum and Articles of Association. The Partnership has around 54 member organisations, comprising NHS Boards, voluntary hospices, national charities and support organisations and professional associations. Each member organisation nominates a representative or representatives (four in the case of mainland NHS Boards and two in the case of island NHS Boards) to act as a formal link with the Partnership, attending meetings and exercising their organisation’s vote(s) in Council elections and at Annual General Meetings.

You can download a copy of the Partnership's constitution here.


The membership of the Partnership is divided into four national and three regional constituency groups:

These groups elect representatives to the Partnership Council, which is the organisation’s governing body. Each constituency group elects two representatives (except the West Regional Group which combines two previous groups and elects four, and SCYPPEX which elects one representative) to act as Council Members of the Partnership. Council members are elected for a period of three years, and may stand for re-election for a second period of three years. After six years in office they must stand down for a period of two years before being re-elected. Two additional Council members may be co-opted as required. Council Members serve as Company Directors of the Scottish Partnership for Palliative Care, and function as its charity trustees. Council elects the Partnership’s three office-bearers, Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Honorary Treasurer, from among its own members and is also responsible for the appropriate appointment of Honorary President and Vice-President.

More in your region
Loading ...